Broad Coalition (Outside Left)

One of the things Ana regularly focuses on is “how do we build broad coalitions…?” I’ll be honest, I’m not an expert when it comes to political classifications, and especially not polling, but I found myself looking at pew research earlier today and notice that they had separate categories for “Progressive Left” and “Outside Left.”

pewresearch. org/politics/2021/11/09/outsider-left/

Things I thought of note (aside from similar ideology) was the fact that they represent the largest percentage of young voters, and had some of the least favorable outcomes when it came to voter turnout…

I know this may not quite meet the definition of “broad,” but I wondered what everyone here would think…? Do we just consider Outside Left to be synonymous with Progressive? Or do we think that they are actually their own political affiliation that we could work with to inspire higher turnout for candidates who are aligned with our mutual interests? Do we think that they’re statistically likely to already vote along similar lines with us, so there wouldn’t be enough return on investment to try to join forces? Or does the current lack of turnout in their group suggest a possibility?

Eager for any possible discussion.

2 Likes