Class action suit vs federalist society / heritage foundation

I think the title kind of says it all. We should sue the federalist society and/or heritage foundation for undermining the legitimacy of our legal system. Incalculable damages. It needs so much attention in current politics. And it would point out all the harmful and wrong rulings they have led to, recent and over time. And it would prevent Biden from using the court as an excuse to be ineffectual. I would so love to see all the judges have to recuse themselves. Just thinking about it makes me feel how I want justice on this so much.

If we don’t actually choose this for operation hope, can I start this on my own? Anyone know a good law firm?

3 Likes

Do something really effective

Do an exposé on these groups with details on where they get their money and whee they use it and why.

Put the pieces together

Cui bono :smirk:

3 Likes

I’m a lawyer and I have no idea what the actual legal claim would be. The claim would have to arise under the common law or statute, but this doesn’t fit under any common law or statutory claim. It appears you want to go after them for their influence on judicial appointments that have led to terrible court rulings. There’s no claim or case there, unfortunately, for several reasons, including the inability to establish proximate causation between the influence and the court rulings. All judges, including the most left leaning, would rule that the judicial rulings are independent actions to which the fed society and heritage society had no impact. Plus, even if there were solid evidence of direct influence on a particular judicial ruling, e.g. fed society wrote the opinion, any damages claim based on the impact of a judicial ruling would be viewed as an attack on the ruling itself, for which the judge has absolute judicial immunity.