Is the term "Techbro" offensive?

This term, along with “cryptobro” are used a lot on TYT. I’m not going to lie it bothers me a little bit. Not enough to make me never want to watch TYT ever again. But it bothers me enough to make this post to advocate against using the term/

Its always used as a slur, and never a term of endearment, which is what bothers me. I think it comes from the belief that all or most tech workers are super wealthy and right leaning. I’ve been working in the tech field since 2010. I have never known a single co-worker to be a right winger.

Also, I think the postfix “bro” implies white male. Yet throughout my career, I would say less than 10% of my co-workers were white. The most common race is by far Asian and Indian.

It is correct that 99% of my co-workers are male, none of the companies were really a “bro” culture where women weren’t welcome. The term “bro” implies misogyny, which I have never experienced.

Lastly, it would be one thing if TYT broadcast their show using 1920s technology, but they are not. It was the “techbros” that they ridicule that make TYT possible.

1 Like

All I will say is that I am a “techbro”( Computer Networking) and I have no problem with it.

1 Like

As a retired tech professional (desktop and networking) I find far less offensive than “nerd” or “dweeb”.

1 Like

I call myself a "Nerd. We even have a “:alien:neeerrrdddssss” channel over in the TYT Official Discord but it’s more for things like SCi-Fi, Comics, Fantasy, etc. “Dweeb” tho I agree with. That one still hurts some

1 Like

I agree. Nerd is OK amongst us Nerds. Dweeb is not.

1 Like