The 50-30-20 Rule doesn't match-up with reality

Ever heard of the 50-30-20 rule? I keep seeimg these financial advisors bring this up and I hate it. I also worked in a bank where we gave this unrealistic advice to help our clients budget.

After taxes you should spend 50% of your pay on needs, 30% on wants, and 20% on savings.

Let’s math shall we. Average salary in US is just under 60K or about 42K net. Average rent is just above 2k a month or 24k a year. Well I hope you’re happy living in 85% of an apartment, because that’s all your Needs can afford.

But what about your other “needs”?

Let’s just file those under wants. You want food to survive. You want the other 15% of your apartment and electricity so you don’t die in this record heat. You want transportation so you can work your average job.

Then I guess savings are things that are saving your life, like doctor visits or insurance or medicine or brakes on a car.

I get this is an oversimplification of everything, but we have to wakeup and realize this current situation is not sustainable in the long run for the vast majority of Americans. You know who knows that? Congress. That’s why they pay themselves $174,000 a year or about 3 times the average for a far below average performance.

I assume this rule is a way a “tool” (50-30-20) used as a propaganda tool to abuse the poor.

This is because underwriting a loan three things are considered. The asset that will be acquired, your ability to repay, and your willingness to repay.